EKS Take WRC Title in Rosario, Argentina

Mattias Ekström and his personal rally cross team EKS are World Champions in the FIA World Rallycross Championship. After the Swedish rally star delivered the drivers’ title at the end of season climax in Rosario, Argentina.

FIA World Rallycross Championship, Season Finale Argentina

“I’m lost for words – and this is a rare occurrence,” said Ekström at the end of a dramatic weekend in Argentina. “This title means a huge amount to the team and me. It shows that we all did an excellent job, and not just this year. When we started EKS three years ago, there was nothing at all. Now we are driver and team World Champions and I’ll remember a great many moments forever.”

With Ekström and teammate Toomas ‘Topi’ Heikkinen leading, EKS confirmed the win and the celebrations began, we acieved what we set out to achieve said the Swede, including beating both Ford and Peugeot teams but next years WRC will be even tougher than this but I am looking forward to defending titles on both counts

FIA World Rallycross Championship, Season Finale Argentina

EKS began this final event with a 17 point majority over championship Rivals Peugeot Hansen. When a series of unforseeable events took place: firstly after a dreadfull downpour one heat had to be delayed from Saturday to Sunday.

Ekström and Heikkinen were, however, left unfazed by the weather and finished the heats in third and ninth. As a result, they scored enough points to beat the competition around nine-time Rally World Champion Sébastien Loeb and to celebrate the title before the final races. After a dramatic semi-final, Heikkinen took third in the final and celebrated his third podium this year. Ekström was fifth in the season’s closing event. In the overall standings, the lead was 35 points in the end. Ekström’s Audi DTM teammate Timo Scheider was fourth in the Seat Ibiza entered by Muennich Motorsport.

Team EKS from Sweden had led, indeed dominated this WRC Season from the very first weekend and had topped the standings since Portugal where this years championship started out. Ekström and Heikkinen won 44 of their 131 races throughout the year and between them stood on the podium nine times during the current campaign, more than any other team including a one-two at Hockenheim

More Stories